Some people say that it is better to work for a large company than a small one. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some that it is ideal to be employed in a large organization than a small organization. I completely agree with this statement as large companies provide better career opportunities as well as better skill development opportunities than small companies. To begin with, many individuals are inclined to work for large multinational or corporates mainly due to better career prospects. In other words, large companies are often known for providing better career advancements and salaries than small enterprises. For example, companies such as Unilever operates with over 3000 employees in Sri Lanka. As a former employee, I have witnessed that they provide better personal development opportunities, career advancement, and high salaries. Hence, it is clear that companies with large operations drive with productive measures in terms of of welfare of their’ employees. Another point to consider is the skill development opportunities in large-scale organizations. This is to say that as these companies operate with many departments, the employees learn to communicate and coordinate with different personalities in the organization. On the other hand, this environment can be hindered in small companies as they operate with less number of employees. For instance, my current organization operates with only five employees. Personally, I feel that I miss the interaction with of working with multiple departments and this has hindered my team-building skills. In conclusion, some people believe that it is better to work for a large company than a small company. I agree with this view due to the factors such as career advancement and skill development opportunities provided by large organizations.