Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is often said that to prevent disease problems, governments should concentrate on cutting down housing problems and environmental pollution. This writer totally agrees with this statement and will explain why during the essay. It must be understood that the dire quality of air and water is one of the major factors for the degradation of public wellness. To be more specific, in metropolitan areas, rampant air and water adulteration, stemming from industrial activities and urbanization processes, leads to chronic diseases. For instance, many of Vietnam’s factories release an enormous amount of emissions every day, which leads to air pollution and affects a lot to people’s health. Therefore, if governments put more emphasis on mitigating environmental issues and housing dilemmas, such problems will be alleviated to a great extent. Nevertheless, simply focusing on environmental and housing complications is not an effective way to combat all illnesses. It is imperative to recognize alongside these efforts, the government should prioritize raising public awareness and implementing educational programs. Furthermore, the promotion of robust lifestyles can encourage people to adopt healthy habits. To illustrate, a campaign in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam called upon the local citizens to incorporate a daily 30 minute-morning walk into their routines. As a result, the participants reported noticeable improvements in their mental and physical health. In other words, by enriching the population’s knowledge about health and prompting them to a more active lifestyle, the government not only lowers disease-related mortality rates but also eases the burden on its healthcare system. In conclusion, governments should solve environmental pollution and housing issues to improve people’s health. However, every one of us should also be aware to protect the living environment in particular and health in general.