Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, government should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that with the purpose of avoiding disease and illness, the government should concentrate on alleviating residential housing problems and pollution. The writer advocates this statement as its positive consequences. Speaking of environmental pollution, this leads to global warming which also causes some infectious diseases. What the author means is that when the temperature is rising and then the ice caps will melt rapidly and the sea levels are also going up. These changes can cause the releasing of bacteria being captured in frozen ice and flooding or even worse that is the increase of occurring natural disasters. As a consequence, there will be more severe diseases and higher death rates. Hence, the authorities should pay attention and efforts to tackle the environmental pollution. Moving on to housing problems, it should be acknowledged that the residents who live in high-standard housing estates tend to have longer lifespan than those living in the lower ones. A house is where people stay for a long period of time so it affects directly their physical and mental health, instead of spending money on other problems, creating a housing estate can reduce the tendency to be ill. In other words, this will reduce the noise in the living environment and there will be no traffic and exchanging activities so it also helps eliminate the noise causing irritation. This enhances the living standard and the residential health. To conclude, it is vital for the government to make a fortune and effort to reduce housing problems and environmental pollution in order to prevent illness and disease.