Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that authorities ought to concentrate on reducing housing problems and environmental pollution so that illness and disease can be avoided. This writer agrees with this opinion as these factors have profound impacts on health. It needs to be understood that reducing the amount of pollutants protects people from numerous issues. As the environment has been highly polluted, dangerous chemicals can easily attend to the food chain by poisoning food and water that are consumed by animals and humans. Especially in recent years, the rate of people who are poisoned by food and water has increased, according to WHO’s research. Therefore, eliminating pollution is one of the best and basic ways to protect citizens and governments should immediately take action. However, some opponents argue that governments need to put more effort into medical treatment and hospitals because they will have long-term efficiency. Though this idea has its own right, it is usually expensive and time-consuming to improve the quality of this service. Hence, dealing with primary causes, such as environmental and housing problems, seems to be much more cost-effective. It is also worth considering that housing issues affect residents seriously. Not only pollution, living conditions and areas may damage people’s health, both mentally and physically. In other words, citizens with no accommodation or having bad living conditions may end up with psychiatric and physical matters, such as depression and irritation. According to research in the USA, the number of people getting sick in slums is higher than those in high-quality houses. Therefore, housing problems may lead to potentially dangerous diseases and problems. In brief, reducing problems relating to pollution and accommodation is government’s priority. Hence, it is essential for them to think of policies to tackle these issues.