Some people say in order to prevent illness and disease governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that governments should be aware of pollution and housing problems in order to prevent disease. This writer agrees with this statement because this will improve citizens’ health and reduce other mental problems. It is vital to understand that environmental problems are the main contributors to illnesses. Pollution can have a damaging effect on citizens’ health by affecting the air they breathe the food they eat and the water they drink. As a result, their health decline and are prone to illnesses such as flu, stomach pain and back pain. For example, air pollution can affect their lungs, and cause respiratory diseases. This can shorten their lifespan and cannot be able to breathe normally. Citizens have to spend a considerable amount of money to cure the diseases. Another consideration is housing problems can make inhabitants feel uncomfortable when they are at home. This can be a shortage of land or labor. This can lead to stress and anxiety, affect their health badly and cause diseases. For instance, a shortage of land means citizens cannot build large homes, which can lead to a lack of space to live. This may cause inconvenience and discomfort, lead to stress and eventually illness, especially mental problems such as depression and anxiety. In conclusion, it is important to preserve the environment and solve housing problems in order to prevent diseases. This can improve citizens’ health by enhancing the quality of the air they breathe and the food they eat; the water they drink. Furthermore, it can improve mental illnesses such as stress and anxiety.