People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and ilegal drugs, and at an early age, some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the cause and effects of widespread drug abuse by young people. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

In the contemporary modern world, people use drugs to cure diseases however, the younger generation tries to misuse these drugs at a very early age while sociologists blame parents and society as motivators for it. This can happen due to a lack of parental guidance in the modern busy world and a lack of knowledge of the youth about the harmful effects of these drugs. Hence, proper parental involvement in their offspring's life and better education in these aspects from schools can mitigate this problem a lot. First and foremost, the main cause of this, is the lack of parental care for their children,as most people are busy with their own work due to hectic lifestyles. Other than that, the lack of proper knowledge of the harmful effects of these also facilitates youth to experiment with them and involuntarily end up with addictions.Specifically, owing to the fact that guardians are busy with their own work, children choose to live with their friends, and their work is not guided by an adult, moreover, as they don't have exposure or prior knowledge if one member in peer group suggests experiencing a new drug, all others would do the same. For instance, according to the police spokesman in Sri Lanka, drug dealers target school children in city areas to build up their customer bases due to their non-supervision by their parents. Thus, this is a burning problem in today's context. Therefore to alleviate this issue parents should preserve time to be with their kids,and schools should be actively involved in this by educating the students about the harmful effects of these at a very young age. When parents are with their kids they can easily tackle the motivators of their children to these drugs and if students have proper knowledge they themselves can reject these. For instance, in countries like Colombia now grade 1 students are taught about drugs like cocaine,and heroin and their harmful effects at their schools. According to their national police report that had reduced the number of child drug addictors by 20%. As such, proper measures can reduce the bad effects of it up to a great extent. In conclusion, the younger generation can addicted to or misuse drugs due to lack of parental supervision and knowledge but changing it to proper adult guidance and educating children about these drugs at a very young age can reduce the devastating effects of it.