At present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

The proportion of youth, adults, and senior citizens in the population varies. In some countries, the younger generation outnumbers the elderly population. Although, this situation may lead high unemployment rate, it allows countries to adapt to the new World and create a highly efficient workforce and I believe this benefit outweighs any potential drawback. One disadvantage of having large numbers of young people in the population is it can lead to high unemployment and competition among them. Most of the older people already have completed their careers and retired while the other older people have stable jobs or run their own businesses. In comparison, many young adults, especially those who just graduated from university, are still looking for jobs. When there are too many of them competing for the same positions, their chances of success can be very low. However, I do not think this major disadvantage for young people as long as they make the leaps to self-employment. On the positive side, young people are the driving force of an economy. This is because they tend to be more productive and creative than older people and thus are more likely to bring change and innovation to their countries. Take for example the highly innovative U.S. company that has really high profits throughout the year, has most of their employees only in their late 20s. I think this creates a great advantage for a country because a strong economy offers people high standards of living. In conclusion, although the large numbers of young adults can mean high jobless rates among them, I believe this disadvantage is greatly outweighed by the advantage that they can drive an economy to grow.