Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can the government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

There is no gainsaying the fact that varied culture and diversity is seen in different countries around the globe. As people travel from one country to another for better living, cities observe a lot of different people with different lifestyles. Certain praiseworthy steps can be taken by the government to maintain peace in these cities. To commence with, the government should implement rules that people have the right to celebrate their festivals and functions the way they used to celebrate in their countries. In India, for example, Diwali is the main festival, celebrated with burning firecrackers at night. Similarly, governments of different countries should provide permission to the people to celebrate this festival by burning firecrackers. Although they cause air and noise pollution, giving one day of freedom would help people to live happily. Thus, all people should be given equal rights to celebrate their festivals by which they will be treated equally as others and enjoy their lives even in different atmospheres. Another worth considering reason is that facilities provided by the government to people should be the same for everyone whether it is someone on a student visa or someone who is a citizen. As a result, no one will be discriminated against. In Canada, for instance, health card is provided only to permanent residents or full-time workers, but there is no such facility provided to students or tourists. If the government provides this facility to everyone, people would not fight for these facilities. Hence, they will live peacefully in one country. To conclude, even though it is hard to keep everyone together and happy, it all depends on the government and what steps they are taking to keep their people living peacefully.