In many countries, people are now living longer than before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Constantly increasing life expectancy has become a hotly debated issue nowadays. While some people believe that more elderly population in our society can lead to additional challenges that the government should tackle, others see this change as a great opportunity, that can benefit our society. In this essay, I will argue that the advantages of an increase in the ageing population can outweigh the disadvantages, if companies adopt the working environment and recognize the pensioners as a new market share with great potential. Most companies build a working environment for young or middle-aged people, taking into consideration that all the employees will leave the company as soon as they reach the appropriate age. By changing this concept, companies may get more highly qualified and experienced employees, that they do not need to train or promote in future. Furthermore, ageing people will continue to earn money and will not need to rely on pensions or other government donations. I think that the advantage of keeping more elderly people as a working force is clear and should be part of the country policy. People in the third part of their lives present a huge potential from a shopping force perspective. Most of them do not have mortgages to pay or they do not need to support the study of their children. They have some savings and lots of free time, which makes them a great market to provide services to. For instance, many elderly people like tourism, which can support both local and foreign businesses, bringing more taxes to the country. The more services companies can provide to this constantly growing market, the more benefit both companies and local authorities will get. To conclude, I definitely see in the rapidly growing elderly people population as potential customers and a valuable working force, that can continue to support the economy and benefit the society we are living in.