Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent to do you agree?

It is considered by some individuals that, social networking sites, for example, Facebook have had a detrimental effect on individual people and local communities. However, I believe it has a beneficial effect on a person but has several drawbacks for societies and local people. To begin with, many social networking sites, for instance, Facebook, are considered positive in many ways for individuals. Those living in different countries are far away from their families, so it is a good platform to unite them with just one click and reduce the long-distance short. The feeling of homesickness is reduced by this modern technology before this invention, it was hard to ask their loved ones how life going. It took ages to get a letter and they reply those letters after months. But these days it normalizes life, so networking sites like Facebook and many other platforms like Instagram, WhatsApp, and Snapchat are the fast-connecting networks in today's world that join people from different parts of the world just in seconds. In addition, the effect of this is opposite for society and local communities because people are more focused to make friends from around the world. They are more curious to adapt their cultures by direct connection with the people living their. They are forgetting their own culture and languages and trying to copy them. This happens because of the involvement of these social websites everyone has access to their news because of social media. The communities are breaking into fragments as they try to talk to one who is not close to them and one who is sitting beside them they are neglecting them. Hence the rate of depression, and loneliness is increasing day by day and families are distanced as well. Therefore, it has a harmful effect on society. In conclusion, social media like Facebook has a positive effect on the person individually but for society, it is alarming because many stress-related factors are originating just because of this. In my opinion, i can not deny the positive side of these sites but it has some drawbacks as well.