There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of the children’s academic success is strongly debated these days. Some people think that non-academic disciplines should be removed from the course to make young people more concentrated on academic subjects. I tend to disagree with this opinion, as I think that both academic and non-academic subjects evolve students. In this essay, I will try to reveal my point of view and support it with examples from my personal experience. Firstly, schools are made to raise a whole personality and not only academic know-it-all. Subjects like physical training and cookery help children to master skills that are life essential. Moreover, these disciplines tend to become more important and useful rather than academics like chemistry for some of the students. Secondly, if non-academic subjects are removed, it does not mean a decrease inressure in pressure on young people. What I mean by that is that the time released from physical training and cookery might be loaded with more advanced academic courses that, eventually, will put a lot more pressure on students than before, so things might get worse. However, I do think that there might be benefits to removing non-academic subjects from coursework. For example, there are many science-oriented schools nowadays that specialize only in academic courses, such as math and physics. In this case, young people might not need non-academic subjects as they are not their main focus, so these disciplines only take their time away. However, I would still consider not removing. In conclusion, as there are controversial opinions on the matter of removing some disciplines to decrease academic pressure, I think there is a prosperity in saving both non-academic and academic subjects for better personal development.