It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Some people believe that violence in the media causes to increase in the crime rate that is done by adolescents. Although it is one of the reasons behind juvenile crime, I think that there are many factors that affect the crime rate of teenagers. This essay will demonstrate the other factors and suggest some possible solutions that might help to reduce these kinds of inappropriate activities of juveniles. There are several issues that help to increase the rate of crime and the media is considered as one of them. However, it is undeniable that family environment, influence of peers, and lack of education might assist in the growth of the juvenile atrocity rate. If teenagers are from disadvantaged neighbourhoods with limited access to quality schooling and if they come from a dysfunctional family environment with parental neglect, then they may face pressure from peers involved in criminal activities. For instance, studies have shown that 56% of teenagers are involved in misdeeds in Bangladesh as they have no parental guidance and limited access to standard education as well as the influence of friends. Regarding the possible solutions, firstly, parents should be punished as their adolescents perform some grave activities. If parents were held accountable, then they would definitely spend more time with their children. It might lead to increased bonding between parents and their children. Consequently, the lawlessness percentage will be reduced. For example, countries like Japan and South Korea are often cited for relatively low rates of juvenile wrongdoing because parents are considered as part of punishment as their offspring do improper actions and that is why they always supervise their children for substantial amounts of time. In conclusion, violence in the media cannot be the main reason for increasing the amount of crime by children, other factors such as family environment, peer influence, and limited access to quality education also ameliorate juvenile crime rate and this can be solved by improving the family environment.