There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use death penalty as a deterrent, many believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the number of serious crimes has been increasing each year. While it is considered by some that capital punishment is the best way to reduce these criminal activities, there are others who think that other measures will be more effective. I will discuss each side in the following essay. On the one hand, some people believe that if they introduce the death penalty, it would work as a strong deterrent and therefore effectively prevent horrible violations. One reason for this is that not many criminals are willing to risk their lives in order to fulfil their needs. For example, the purpose of someone engaging in murder is in many cases to get rid of people who are making their life difficult. However, they would not carry out the plan if they know that their life might be taken away as a consequence, as their actions would become redundant. Another reason is that it eliminates the risk of reoffending. This viewpoint is especially important considering how high the recidivism rates are in most countries. On the other hand, other preventive approaches should be taken to reduce higher-class felonies, according to some. At the moment, researchers have not found the evidence to conclude that the death penalty contributes to a decreased number of serious misdeeds. For this reason, other steps would be necessary, the opponents say. For instance, introducing more police on the streets can put people with criminal intentions off taking action. In addition to this, strengthening cyber patrol enables the police to detect early signs of consequential wrongdoings. In conclusion, although capital punishment works as a deterrent to some extent, other measures can be effective as well. It is crucial that the government and the criminal justice system consider the effects of each measure before enforcing it.