Do you think the government is right to stop people using mobile phones while driving?

In this modern world, mobile phones have become indispensable gadgets. Without mobile phones, folks can't dream of even a single day. However, according to a recent survey, due to the increased usage of phones while driving, a huge number of accidents tend to happen on the road. Hence, the government is currently stopping people from using mobiles while driving. I certainly support that move by the government and I have below reasons to support my stance. Foremost, during road accidents, most times victims either lose life or suffer fatal injuries, which prevent them from taking part in both work & social life. This leads to a greater burden for the victim's family and indirectly for the state as well. This is mainly because, sufferers can be the sole breadwinner for their families and if they can't work, it creates a huge onus for their dependants. Additionally, the state, may lose talented folks from the workforce, who could have better contributed to the upliftment not only of their family, but also for their society. Besides, in certain developed countries, the state has to take care of medical insurance for these victims for the rest of their life. Conversely, if the number of accidents is less, then the government spends less money on medical insurance for victims and these funds can be better channelled for other pressing needs. In addition to this, mobile phone usage has a similar effect as drunken drive. Just like how drivers when they are in an inebriated state, do not have spatial awareness, similar to that, drivers who are on mobile phones tend to show poor road awareness as well. This is mainly due to the fact that the driver's mind would be multitasking when on a phone call and this creates a dangerous situation for the pedestrians people walking or crossing on road. In many countries, the governments have imposed severe penalties for drunken drivers, much like that stringent rules should be passed to prevent mobile phones usage while driving as well. So to summarize, I fully support the government's stance on banning mobiles while driving, as it not only creates a safe environment for pedestrians people, but also helps motorists to be responsible citizens.