many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

A common trend occurring frequently around the globe is the proliferation of social media to stay connected with the world and get recent news. Although many point out that the information on social networking sites might bring risks, I would argue that the benefits for society as a whole overshadow these perceived drawbacks. One of the main beneficial aspects of using technological platforms is their efficiency and features. With virtual society, people who live quite remote from families, especially with expatriates might find it easier to communicate and stay in touch with their families and friends. Take overseas students as a good example, the development of social media has changed the way people connect to expatriates from writing letters to having a video call or using online messages. Another point to consider is that online platforms contain a variety of news sources which frequently updated on a regular basis. Due to that reason, people can find it straightforward to keep abreast of events around the world. Just by a click on the social networking sites there will be a bunch of websites or documents which may lend a hand to inhabitants to tackle their problems. In this way, users can also take advantage of features like videos or the ability to share an article. There was, however, a large number of technophobes who felt that accessing information on online platforms is unnecessary due to the prevalence of fake news. There will be an enormous amount of gutter press which just talks rubbish and abuses some gossip to be well-known. As a result, untrustworthy news may have negative effects on readers and also, the users of social media are not aware of the possible dangers that are likely to be harmed themselves in some way. To sum up, despite the challenges in finding the news that is trustworthy over time, the wealth of knowledge and convenience in communication, which enriches the society and fosters global cooperation has profound and widespread benefits.