TSome people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a divisive opinion in society, where some folks believe that the best way to curb environmental problems is to hike fuel prices for vehicles. Though hiking prices might reduce the usage of cars, which in turn reduces harmful exhaust from the vehicles, I personally believe it would be quite an unpopular decision. Hence, I completely disagree with this myopic view and I have the following reasons to support my stance. Foremost, a hike in fuel prices will have a direct impact on the vehicle manufacturing sector. This is because, demand for vehicles would plummet when the petrol cost spikes, causing the reduction in the 4 wheelers manufacturing. Since, the manufacturing sector employs a good chunk of the population, many employees would lose jobs as a result. This would lead to an economic depression in the country and create a cascading effect, where other transport-dependent sectors like Tourism might potentially suffer as well. Secondly, with the reduction in car usage, there might be a scenario where people tend to prefer public transport as an alternative. However, a huge rush would be created as an outcome of the increased demand for these vehicles during office hours. For instance, in Mumbai, most people prefer public transport during peak hours and in those times, public transports including trains are heavily packed, which is almost impossible for students or office goers to travel. So to summarize, there are many ways like planting trees, usage of renewable energy etc to solve environmental problems, but raising fuel costs is not the right one. If fuel prices get hiked, for the short term it can provide benefits, but in the long run it will create undesirable effects for the country.