Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to only be meant for adults. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. What are its causes and what solutions can be offered?

Youngsters from this generation are sick with different illnesses that only were a problem for grown-ups. In this essay I will discuss the main causes and possible solutions to this problem. Nowadays, children prefer to spend free time in front of digital screens, whereas in the old days playing outside, while doing some physical activity. For this reason, calories are not being burnt, thereafter fat builds up, which is the cause of obesity and many more health problems. Furthermore, the food industry is making profit by creating extremely unhealthy “body fuel”, which can even be poisonous for our bodies. Not only it is packed with sugar, but it is full of toxic dyes, such as Red-40, or sweeteners, that might be the cause of cancer, which is not known for sure, because not enough experiments have been made. Firstly, the problem could be solved by limiting kids’ screen time, which can be done with the help of various apps, that aid parents to track how much time is being spent near technological devices. In consequence, children would start choosing going to the playgrounds with their friends. In addition, children should be offered healthy food in the school as well as in their houses. It is important to understand that homemade dishes are more nutritious than the pre-made ones in shops, as they are full of fiber, proteins, vitamins and healthy fats. To sum up, varied reasons have given rise to obesity in modern kids, thus I firmly believe steps such as restricting screen time and providing youngsters with nourishing foods must be taken to tackle the worrisome situation.