Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student. In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this topic?

Some people believe a student’s academic performance and emotional development are affected by teachers. However, I firmly believe that peers are more influential because students are motivated by competing with their friends and grow up by building relationships with them. To begin with, students are motivated and stimulated by competing with their classmates. They study and get tests together in a classroom and a school every time, which means they can identify each grade after their exams. Moreover, if students have their rivals, they are more conscious of competition and try to do well than others. That is, friends could make each other study harder. For example, back in my high school, students’ grades were opened on the chalkboard after exams finished. It had me check my rank and compare it with my rivals and I got motivated by them, trying to do better on the next exam. On top of that, peers become mature, building up relationships with their friends. As I mentioned, since they should spend a very long time a day with their friends, they could experience fighting, have some conflicts, and solve problems. Through this process, learning various emotions, situations, and solutions helps them develop emotionally. For instance, when I was young, I was a really shy and introverted person, but a series of events with my friends at my school and academy let me change my personality. Even though there were many trials and errors, I kept thinking about how to handle conflicts and how to communicate, undergoing several changes, and growing up. To sum up, peers would be academic motivators and emotional helpers. For these reasons, it is clear that a student’s academic effort and emotional growth are more related to peers than teachers.