In many countries, small shops are closing. Give your reasons about this. Is it positive or negative? Give examples from your knowledge and experience

People are winding up their local shops in various countries across the world, and there are many reasons behind this move like modernisation, I believe that this is not a positive move, rather it has many drawbacks. Due to globalisation, brands like Nike, Puma, Mcdonalds, and KFC are dominating the markets in almost every nation, I think this is the biggest reason why small vendors are not able to sell their local products whether the apparel, toys, and food, so they are left with no choice, but to wind up their small stores. Apart from that, people are becoming brand conscious these days, so they instead of buying from small shops, prefer to buy from large stores like Adidas, Apple, and many more. For example, instead of buying coffee from a local shop, people love to have coffee from Starbucks or Cafe Coffee Day. Moreover, another reason could be the building of huge shopping malls, which take over the place of these small and local businesses. People instead of going to different shops, like to shop in these shopping malls, where they are able to find all products in one place. In my opinion, this is a negative development because first of all, this move is ruining the businesses of locals because no one likes to shop at these shops anymore. Another drawback is the loss of culture and heritage of a particular country, for example in local shops people sell their traditional things like handmade clothes, shoes, and in fact traditional dishes as well, but by shutting down their stores, they are losing their cultures and traditions. Moreover, this is not only hitting the incomes of locals, but also somewhere hitting the economy of a nation as well. In conclusion, reasons like urbanisation and globalisation are responsible for shutting down the local and small shops in various nations across the world, and this step is not in the favour of residents of these countries as somehow people are losing their cultures and traditions associated with these small and medium scale businesses, also people are losing their incomes from these, and somewhere this is also negative for a country's economy.