You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

An argument has arisen between the two groups regarding how modern technology has affected the way people socialize with others. Some say that as the technology gets more advanced, it is easier for them to communicate with others. Meanwhile, part of the society believes that it tears them apart instead. I agree with the contention that technology has brought people closer since it eases us to maintain our interaction. A further explanation of my point of view will be presented below. First of all, the notion against modern technology has pointed at the drawbacks that emerge when people use smartphones for too long until they get addicted and forget their surroundings. This is usually experienced by young people. For example, they are busy playing games on their phones and do not bother to contact their friends unless they need something necessary. If only they can replace the time-consuming they have spent on their phones with contacting their close friends, it will be much better for them. On the contrary, people who support modern technology always find that its existence will be very helpful for their socialization, even through online messages. Technologytechnology has broadened their networking. For example, these people want to arrange a homecoming event for their high school and all they need to do is search their old friends' names on social media to obtain the contacts. As a result, just in seconds, they connected again. If they want to meet face to face, it is also easy for them to arrange the schedule through a group chat or video call. In conclusion, although modern technology tends to make people addicted to their gadgets, it remains useful to connect people to stay in contact.