Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is true that in the contemporary world, many individuals tend to work for themselves as freelancers instead of working for companies. There are many reasons why people like to be self-employed. Although there are some advantages to self-employment, it has many drawbacks that people should pay attention to before starting self-employment. Several reasons contribute to why people tend to choose self-employment. Firstly, they have freedom in their job and there is no boss to complain about their work and their approach. Secondly, in many situations, the income can be drastically more than the wages that companies pay. For instance, I have worked for a company for a couple of months as a website developer. When I started to work for myself, I easily made three times more than my salary in just one week. Lastly, people can work at any time of day they want, instead of sticking to a settled working hour. Sometimes it can be devastating and overwhelming to work eight hours a day. Despite all the benefits that self-employment offers, we cannot ignore its drawbacks. In many situations, investors, entrepreneurs, and businessmen do not trust freelancers, instead, they tend to work with big and reputable companies and conglomerates. Also, In diverse situations, such as recession and other economic issues, getting a project would be so hard. For instance, I remember vividly that during Corona pandemic, it was too tough for freelancers to get projects every day. Similarly, self-employers should bear all the burdens alone. When people work as a team, they work together to solve problems related to their jobs. However, this cannot be true for self-employers. In conclusion, there are many reasons why people choose to work for themselves instead of participate in company occupations. While self-employment has a lot of benefits, it faces many obstacles and drawbacks.