One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In an ever-progressive society, one of the major challenges facing all nations is the scarcity of food. Some individuals believe this menace could be curbed through the introduction of genetically processed food. In my view, I contend that it should not because of its health implications and little knowledge about it. Some people think that the best way to ameliorate meal shortage is through alterations of its genetic makeup. This is due to the fact that new genes can increase the productivity of crops and yield species that are resistant to insects. This is credible, but just can be applied in some situations to improve the good genes in one category, multiple types would be a different case. In other words, genetically modified fare has been linked to the development of human cancers such as stomach, colon and rectum. For instance, in Japan, after an inadequate meal supply due to floods, the crop produced from genetic aberration killed more than 2 million people as a result of cancer. Moreover, implementation of this trend requires thorough technical knowledge which is found lacking in most developing countries, unlike developed countries. For example, Africa, is a continent that is really lagging behind in the application of this new improvement despite having the highest number of the population dying of starvation as opposed to the West which is skilled in utilizing this scientific approach. As a consequence, expertise has limited its use even though it could be of help. In conclusion, this trend would not proffer a solution to the shortage of meals due to its disastrous effects on human health and the lack of technology needed to facilitate it in some parts of the world.