Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree?

It is undeniable that in today's day and age, the influence of social media platforms is increasing among youngsters. However, many individuals argue that the constant coverage of artists by the media has a negative impact on children. I totally agree with the notion that news reporter's updates about superstars lead to a bad influence on young adults for two main reasons. To commence with, the first reason would be the way artists present themselves in front of the media as they set unrealistic beauty standards and lifestyle choices, which spread curiosity among adults. Children are great imitators hence, they idolize their superstars and try to copy their behaviour and choices to make themselves superior and ideal to their peers. For instance, many high school girls wear makeup daily in school to look glamorous. Thus, they put extensive efforts into looking beautiful and attractive like their role models, which ultimately leads to constant pressure on them to achieve higher beauty standards. Furthermore, the following reason could be the accessibility of various digital media platforms that make a buzz around celebrities' affairs constantly. Social media influencers and other reporters make engaging content about their lives would be disadvantageous as many youngsters follow their updates on a regular basis which is why they waste their valuable time on digital platforms. Therefore, they often distract from their academic goals. For illustration, pupils spend more time on social media which makes them feel vulnerable and distracted from their real-life goals. To sum up, in my personal view, the continuous coverage from the media about artists' affairs could negatively influence children as they imitate their behaviours and their curiosity to know everything about their idols, often puts them on edge. This behaviour could impact their education as well as their unrealistic beauty goals.