Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. Although many people believe that the best way to tackle this is to place people in jail for longer periods, others are of the opinion that other measures will be more effective. In this essay, I will interpret both views and give my opinion. On the one hand, prolonged lockup sentences may have a significant impact on the offenders, yet it would not produce magnificent results. To illustrate, a criminal thinks twice before committing a breach and hesitates since the thought of lifelong captivity is a preventive factor. However, if a person commits a crime and gets arrested, it is obvious that criminals stay in jail under the current laws as well. Nonetheless, there is no decrease in the ratio of crime. There is still a plethora number of thieves or murderers outside and they are not afraid of getting caught. From this point of view, people cannot eradicate the felony in the way of focusing merely on the length of punishments. On the other hand, taking ample precautions is more influential rather than prolonged penitentiary sentences. The quality of security of a city is an integral part of the safety and criminals can move more readily in an insecure place. For instance, the number of cameras in the cities can ensure that if a person has a tendency to do illegal manner, police find them by using the records in a matter of minutes. Apart from that, another alternative way is to increase security at the desolate points does leave no room for atrocity. Such alternative ideas are more sensible, feasible and powerful measures and prevent corruption before it happens. In conclusion, my opinion on the matter is that longer confinement life is not an adequate solution. The governments should direct their attention to increasing and improving the security in the cities, towns or villages. I believe that evil is possible by restricting the potential moves of criminals.