The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree?

One school of thought holds that capital punishment is optimal to restrict crime rates. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I would contend that there are various points against this notion. On the one hand, it is understandable why a good number of individuals tend to believe in the death penalty as a way to decrease the number of crimes. First and foremost, it warns people not to commit serious crimes. If the death penalty is not valid, there are numerous drug sellers who sell their goods without worry and are killed by the police. Additionally, on a community level, it shows justice that everyone has equality in terms of laws. For instance, if people work as blue collar or the founder of a multinational company tends to make illegal revenue such as selling cocaine or money laundering, they will be sentenced to death. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the death penalty is not the best way to handle the crime rates. One reason is that executing criminals encourages revenge. If the members of that gang do not take revenge for their leader, who passed away by this regulation, it will be disrespectful to the leader. Another reason is that there are concerns about the potential for wrongful executions, leading to innocent people being sentenced to death. For instance, those living in debt will be tricked into taking the place of those in danger of being executed by the law. As a result, innocent individuals could be executed without knowing the truth behind their behavior. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that there are plenty of inhabitants who advocate for the death penalty as an optimal solution for reducing the crime level, I would contend that this measure has various negative impacts on the community.