Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development

In recent decades, an increasing number of young individuals tend to be addicted to using smartphones. There are several reasons why the phenomenon is becoming prevailing. From my perspective, I believe it has a positive impact on them in many aspects. There are some reasons why children spend hours on smart devices. First and foremost, in modern life, both parents are too busy with tremendous tasks given at work so in order not to be bothered, they have given smart gadgets to their children. Also, many online courses have been offered for free or just with a small amount of money which inspires them to stick to their screens frequently. Moreover, there are thousands of games invented daily. They are so attractive and challenging that teenagers are willing to sit in the same position for hours on end. Regarding the detrimental impact of making use of smart devices, it might increase some physical and mental issues in young people. The fact is that those who spend more than 4 hours on the Internet are highly likely to suffer from eye-related diseases and obesity. Moreover, they can also enter inappropriate websites consisting of violent content that might have negative impacts on their mental development, leading to unhealthy behaviours. In conclusion, the increasing use of smartphones among teens has been caused by different subjective and objective reasons. Although it offers some advantages, I still believe that children might deal with many risks if their time spent on it is not controlled sensibly.