Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in cities. What do you think are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that young people have the tendency to migrate to pursue their education or fulfil their career prospects in major metropolises. In this essay, I will discuss how the abundance of opportunities and the quality of education and working environment are primarily causal regarding this trend and I stand by the standpoint that there are more benefits than drawbacks. Obviously, the most prestigious universities are situated in large cities around the world. In light of this, young demographics from rural areas are relocating to metropolises in search of a better quality of education. For example, in Vietnam, more than 90% of the top universities and companies have their headquarters in the country's two capital cities, namely Hochiminh City and Hanoi. Likewise, the most highly regarded enterprises are also established in major cities. As a result, the best-paying jobs are concentrated in these areas, which attract both uneducated and well-educated workers. Furthermore, young people are less likely to be married, which also enables them to migrate without serious ramifications. Although there are certain limitations and consequences to this trend, I believe that it is more advantageous to individuals and the country alike. It is undeniable that a massive wave of migration to large metropolises will cause severe overpopulation, thus putting the municipal infrastructure under tremendous pressure and creating social issues such as crimes or poverty. However, the opportunity to pursue tertiary education in the top universities will produce a surge of highly trained labourers, boosting the economy. Additionally, chances to land better-paid occupations are ample in urban areas, which helps these young people to earn better salaries to support themselves and their families as well. This also leads to significantly lower unemployment, directly reducing the crime rate and improving the quality for the public. In conclusion, young people from the countryside are migrating to major cities in order to obtain higher education and careers with better salaries. While specific disadvantages are prevalent, I advocate the fact that this movement is heading towards a brighter future.