Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Teaching good behaviour should begin in childhood. There are many ways to teach. While punishing children could lead to trauma, teaching them what is good or bad would lead to better outcomes.   On the one hand,punishments are one of the worst ways to teach children how to behave well. This could lead to numerous childhood traumas. If this method is used, children will not do the wrong things, not because they know this is bad but because of fear that they will be punished again. Hence, in the future, they could become isolated and afraid of making mistakes. For instance, many adults who are perfectionists were punished in their childhood and, as a result, became afraid of making mistakes. Therefore, many physiologists do not recommend using this method while raising a child. On the other hand, rewarding and complimenting children could lead to a better understanding of the difference between good and bad. Explain to them how to behave well and what manners to have well-behaved people, as children are immature and do not have enough imagination about this world. Consequently, this approach could result in better results. For example, research conducted by Stanford University shows that, when children are encouraged and given lots of affection, they are mostly well-mannered.    In conclusion, instead of punishing and arguing with children about their behaviour, which can lead to the worst consequences, parents could encourage and reward them by showing a lot of love. As a result, many children will behave themselves in a good manner.