Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The fact that the members of society need to speak the foreign language of the country they are settling in can raise issues of social interactions and real-life hardships. I agree with this assumption and the following essay will demonstrate that the linguistic barrier is the main reason why it is difficult to integrate socially and practically. Firstly, there is a possibility that individuals who have been struggling to overcome language barriers raise societal concerns, namely interpersonal issues. In other words, they are unable to either comprehend the conversation or integrate emotionally, and learners sometimes misinterpret culture, thus leading to cultural conflicts and being excluded from the community. For example, in Vietnam, addressing someone by their first name is considered casual and friendly, while in Japan, it may be seen as disrespectful or overly familiar. Consequently, many international students acknowledge this politeness so as not to irritate their neighbours and avoid unnecessary arguments. Another argument is that incompetence in deciphering the meanings of words can cause difficulties in carrying out possible tasks in daily life. This is because verbal limitation can hinder their ability to navigate and function effectively within society, which results in limited access to essential services such as healthcare, legal assistance, and educational resources. However, this obstacle can be overcome as long as people manage to cultivate problem-solving skills. For instance, immigrants can use translation applications or turn to customer service if they are in official institutions. In conclusion, I believe that everyone has to deal with social and practical problems when they learn the mother tongue of the country they move to due to their incapacity to understand situations. Therefore, it is advisable that learning the local language seriously can help ease the awkwardness of the circumstances.