Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

According to some, household waste is not recycled much. They argue that the government should enforce regulations to increase the number of garbage recycling. I think many people are still unfamiliar with how to recycle waste properly. In my opinion, I disagree that a law should be made for the recycling of households. Firstly, people nowadays tend to do something handy, fast, and fun. Instead of making a law, it is better to provide education regarding waste utilization to reduce the negative environmental impact. For instance, the government can leverage social media to provide information about how to separate organic and inorganic waste and what the positive impact of those activities. Furthermore, inviting them to become environmental heroes through creative content will be more inspiring for people to follow. Subsequently, making a program that generates a benefit for citizens, such as converting waste to e-money, would be more effective. For example, they can throw plastic waste collection vending machines at some checkpoints. This program will attract the attention of people, from children to adults, to contribute, as it is an enjoyable activity. Moreover, nowadays, people prefer things that use technology, so all processes are easier and faster. In conclusion, there are various engaging and easy ways to increase people's awareness of the environment. Sometimes a more humane approach through socialization and creative programmes is easier to get people's attention, rather than making onerous laws. The law is more likely to be applied to people who cause great loss and damage.