Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that nowadays children are not keen on physical activities as much as they used to be in the past. Some people say that physical education classes should be obligatory for kids at school. I agree with this statement and in this essay, I will explain my own opinion. On the one hand, sporting hours are vital for school-age children, I do not believe that such educational programs must be mandatory. Making these programs compulsory in schools may result in unfair decisions and bad behaviours could emerge in a group of students who have no interest. The reason behind that is not every child is physically fit to participate in sports. Only suitable and willing students can take part in the optional stream of playful activities. Additionally, this would be a waste of time because children could spend more time on important subjects such as science or foreign languages by speaking English or knowledge of maths would be more beneficial for pupils' future. On the other hand, making physical education obligatory in schools will solve many problems in today's society. Firstly, compulsory sports lessons will compensate for children’s lack of movement. For instance, youngsters nowadays spend too much time using all kinds of electronic devices like smartphones or TVs. Therefore, playing sports at school would help students get enough movement to keep fit. Secondly, sports lessons are equally beneficial for children’s mental development, as playing sports conveys important values such as the importance of cooperation, discipline and self-confidence. Finally, the lessons learned through sports remain, providing a strong basis for a healthy and meaningful life. To sum up, sports lessons have a positive impact on students’ minds and bodies. I believe that sports lessons should be made mandatory in schools.