In some societies, obesity is regarded as a major problem. Some people believe that junk food advertising is largely to blame for this problem and should be banned. However, others feel that junk food advertising does not contribute to the problem of obesity and should not be banned. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Obesity has been an indisputable issue in societies in recent decades. Some people believe that junk food advertising is a major factor for this problem and should be banned while others think that banning fast food advertisements can not be the key factor to deter people from being obese. In forthcoming paragraphs, both views are discussed correctly and I will give my perspectives about it. To begin with, there is an indisputable fact that, massive advertisements can make people eager to buy readymade food considerably. In addition, sales and bonuses (one is free for every three burgers which are bought) affect people ’s eating habits deeply and ironically they become the victims of fast food chains. Moreover, fast food is completely convenient, quick and reasonably cheap which can be affordable for all consumers. And advertisements try to impress these qualities for making readymade food be well-known in popular broadcasts and media such as TV, Radio channels and newspapers. This can be the reason for individuals think that advertisements on fast food should be forbidden. On the other hand, it can be completely incorrect if ads are considered as the only main factor to cause people ’s obesity. Not doing exercises regularly, and inappropriate eating habits are basic causes of being fat. Thereby individuals are incapable of losing extra calories which are gained from readymade snacks due to not working out. Sometimes it is commonly seen that some individuals have a good shape and a proper choice for their healthy diet in spite of the fact that their surrounding is covered with such advertisements in fast food restaurants. Hence, educational centres and governments should focus on improving people ’s awareness of unhealthy food. To sum up, prohibiting fast food advertising can not be the only solution to solve this issue as some people believe. Otherwise, the government and schools can set up some measures that can provide information about unhealthy food, encourage people to go to the gym and create an opportunity to know the detrimental effects of fast food.