It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punsihment should be given?

Learning what is considered good and bad is crucial for children. I completely agree with this statement because this is the basic for children that have a crucial role when they are adults. It is also crucial to give them educational punishment when they do something wrong. It is widely accepted that educating children to differentiate what something is right or wrong becomes this is the foundation for their adult life. The childhood period is a golden age for every human being that influences personal behaviour, which means that this time is vital for them. Japanese children, for example, are well known for their discipline and politeness because they do not learn a lot about school subjects, instead educate them with moral qualities such as honesty, respect for older people, and obeying societal norms. Therefore, they can easily understand that they are restricted from doing something incorrect, such as leaving home without permission, coming late to class and bullying others. These qualities are the major reasons why Japanese people are well-known for their kindness, hard work and other positive behaviours. Educational punishments are the best option when children do not obey the rules. A child who is late to go to class could be punished by cleaning up the classroom or memorizing some English vocabulary. Giving them such punishment not only would force them to be a better child but also improve their academic achievements. A wide range of punishments could be introduced to the school curriculum such as writing a story, giving presents to vulnerable groups and even helping others. Hence, it is vital for teachers and parents to avoid physical punishments that may bring children to depression or low self-esteem. In conclusion, it is argued that children should learn about right and wrong at an early age since it is foundational for their life. However, when they do not obey the rules, they should be punished with a variety of educational punishments.