You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

The modes of shopping have changed since the development of technology. More and more people do online shopping instead of going to a physical store. As a result, small businesses find it hard to survive in nowadays' society. In this essay, I am going to examine how local communities and what we can do to alleviate this problem. If local shops are shut down, the city will become less attractive and it will definitely affect the vibe of the area. Let’s take Hong Kong as an example. Many physical stores were closed permanently during the pandemic and a lot of areas hasn't recovered yet. Therefore, there are, still, lots of empty shops on the street. As a result, people have less willingness to go out so they start buying things online with chain companies. In addition, local stores usually offer lower prices of products and some may import goods from countries around to increase the variety of choices to attract customers. There will be fewer options for customers if there are only chained supermarkets left. Despite the problems, there are some solutions. Firstly, governments offer monetary incentives to encourage small business owners to start their businesses. Money incentives like subsidies on rent can lessen the financial burdens that these owners. In addition, governments can redevelop the communities and bring tourists to the area. If there are more people visiting, small businesses will have revenue. In conclusion, local stores give consumers more options and make a city vibrant. Without them, the city will look like a “ghost town”. In order to tackle these problems, governments can provide financial support for small businesses and develop community-based tourism.