Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

Given the environmental problems associated with fossil fuel combustion, many countries have prioritized developing and using sustainable sources of energy. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that this is indeed a beneficial advancement. On the one hand, using sustainable sources of power is disadvantageous to some extent. First and foremost, the enormous cost incurred to research and introduce renewable sources would put a strain on government coffers. As a result, this could lead to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare, thereby forcing ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, to struggle even more to earn a living. Furthermore, eco-friendly energy is heavily dependent on external conditions. For instance, wind energy and solar energy cannot be stored, which means if there is no sunlight or wind, the flow of energy can be disrupted. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that using alternative energy is a worthwhile investment due to the great benefits it brings. One rationale is that replacing coal and petroleum with wind or solar power could contribute to reducing atmospheric emissions. This could improve air quality and reduce the incidence of cancer or respiratory diseases. Another justification is the endless supply of eco-friendly energy sources. In fact, while oil and coal are finite resources and take millions of years to replenish, energy from wind and solar could never run out. In conclusion, even though it is irrefutable that green energy sources could give rise to a number of adverse implications, I would contend that they will one day become an irreplaceable part of human society.