Globalization is creating a world with a single culture and destroying national identity in the process. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people say that due to the phenomenon of globalization, the world nowadays is experiencing a lack of cultural diversity and each country is losing their distinction. This writer agrees with this because of the same clothing style and traditional cuisines. To begin with, it is vital to understand that globalization can affect the outfit of the population. To be more specific, citizens from developing countries often consider the dressing style of developed countries as a symbol of wealth, modernity and professionalism. Because of that, they will continuously seek, following fashion trends and globalization situation make these clothes far more accessible to developing communities. As a result, traditional clothes will no longer have a place in developing nations and start to fade away. Take Vietnamese people as a contextual example, they used to wear Ao Dai daily in the past but nowadays, they are wearing casual clothes as a consequence of globalization. Furthermore, globalization also has a negative impact on traditional cuisine. It must be acknowledged that globalization contributes to the expansion of fast-food companies worldwide. This gave them opportunities to erect new restaurants around the world and offer people a wider variety of foods to choose from apart from their traditional dishes. Despite this might seem like a positive thing, it can make citizens adopt these new products in their daily life because they are affordable, convenient and reliable which will overshadow traditional foods. For instance, many teenagers in Vietnam go to KFC for meals and only eat traditional meals on special occasions. In conclusion, globalization affects distinguishable clothing styles and traditional cuisines. Hence, this essay has given clear points to agree with the statement that globalization is destructive to national identities through the creation of a single culture.