Some argue that governments should invest more in tourism. Others claim that the investment has a negative impact on local people and should be avoided where possible. Discuss both views while giving your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding, a few individuals who believe that governments should invest more money in tourism. While, some people say that the investment has a negative impact on the citizen and should be avoided where possible. In this essay, I will be discussing both views and giving my opinion in further paragraphs. To begin with, tourism is a sector where the government should invest and receive more tax and that money can help to develop the place more. To explicate, when people come to visit someplace they also pay an extra amount of money on top of the real price as well as a local and small businesses will earn more and get benefits from that. For example, the survey of the 2024 Dubai Expo attracted tourists from all over the world and the government of Dubai invested $200 Billion Dollars. Thus, it reflects a big boost in the economy of the country as well as provides more employment for the locals. On the other hand, some masses argue that it has a negative effect on them also, it leads to massive pollution. Moreover, people coming from overseas will bring some infections with them. For instance, a report by BBC tells that 35 per cent of new infections come from another country, and this comes in the form of pollution in the air or when people are more socialized. Hence, they believe that to avoid such kind of situation is to stop tourism. To conclude, although it is true that, people do pollute nature. However, investing in tourism helps locals as well as their government to earn money.