In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In some parts of the world, university students stay with their families while they pursue their studies, whereas in other places, students relocate to another city for university. Both choices have advantages and drawbacks. I believe that the benefits of living independently during university outweigh the downside, as it fosters essential skills and independence. First and foremost, one of the benefits of living away from home is the opportunity for increased independence and responsibility, which can lead to future living. Without family nearby, students must take care of their daily tasks such as managing their time, cooking and budgeting their money. For instance, young adults who live in dorms or shared apartments handle chores like paying bills and preparing meals on their own because no adults will help them to take care of the tasks. Additionally, these responsibilities help them develop valuable skills that can improve self-independence and prepare them for adulthood. As a result, students who live independently gain practical skills that they will need throughout their lives. Secondly, another advantage of living in a different city is the chance to experience a new environment and meet different people. Moving to a new place exposes young people to different cultures, ideas, and ways of thinking which will help them become more open-minded. For example, peers in big cities or study abroad programs meet people from various backgrounds and try new activities. Furthermore, these experiences help students to become more adaptable and understanding of other cultures, which are useful in today’s diverse world. In conclusion, living away from their parents helps students become more independent and open-minded, despite challenges. Although living at home has certain benefits, the growth and skills gained from living alone make moving out a more valuable experience for university students.