Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the negative impacts on society and family life?

It has become a current trend that more people have children at an older age. There are significant reasons to contribute to this problem including increasing financial safety as well as changing the career perspectives of women. The negative consequence that society will have is declining birth rates while more conflicts will be expected between parents and children with a larger gap in their ages. The primary reason for the delay in giving birth is a growing sense of suspicion toward a degrading economy today, which will escalate the social problem of lower birth rates. In other words, many young adults are not satisfied with their lower salaries due to the stagnation of their businesses, which encourages them to marry and have children as they get older when they are more financially secure. Furthermore, the growing inflation has made it even more difficult for them to afford their own food and accommodation. As a result, the number of children is likely to drop as older people lose their fertility and even there are many seniors who give up their children with their increasing concerns for their own health conditions regardless of their wealth. Another reason to encourage people to postpone the age of having children is the rising motivation of women for their own job promotion, which causes them to fail to satisfy the needs of their children. Indeed, women have become a significant workforce, as proved by higher rates of female CEOs and managers in the current industry. They are more ambitious to achieve their own goal in business than several decades ago, which promotes them to decide to have children after they make some accomplishments as they age. Consequently, the extended age gap between parents and children will cause more problems. For instance, many children will complain if they do not have enough stamina to play around whereas senior parents struggle to catch up with their latest trend due to their wide generational gaps. In conclusion, lower wages are a significant reason to deter young adults from having children, which aggravates the problem of lower birth rates. The rising number of working women aspiring to succeed also contributes to this problem. The extended age gap between parents and children will make it harder to understand each other.