Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There has always been a controversial perspective on advertisements, whether they are profoundly good at convincing people to purchase a product or too conventional to attract the individuals' attention. I firmly agree with the latter outlook. On the one hand, some people believe that people can be easily persuaded to buy things via advertising. This is definitely attributed to the impact of consistent stimulants on peoples' unconsciousness. That is, the more they are exposed to repetitive content about buying a product, whether visually or auditorily, via billboards or radio, the more they are prone to choose that in a shop store. Based on an experiment which was conducted recently, people unconsciously followed the orders which were briefly shown in the middle of a movie on the screen at a cinema such as "forget this scene" or "buy some popcorn", which demonstrates how obscure visual stimulants can take over people's minds. However, I believe when it comes to deciding about buying a product, people do not usually act that much uncontrolled. On the other hand, some people say that advertisements are too common and repeated to be considered and they cannot play a significant role in convincing us to buy things based on two reasons. First, people do not normally pay attention to different advertisements on the net or television, unless they have truly decided to purchase a product. Subsequently, advertisements cannot persuade them to buy a redundant thing that they have never felt the necessity to buy. Secondly, people do not trust advertisements to obtain things as manufacturers try to do their best to pretend that their product is perfect in all aspects even if it is not true. I believe that advertising cannot be that successful in making people purchase the product if they have not decided to do so. In conclusion, although some people believe that advertising plays a substantial role in persuading people to buy things, I believe that they cannot be the only factor affecting our minds.