Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the negative impacts on society and family life?

In today's fast-paced society, more people tend to have children later in their life. While it may be more sustainable for them socioeconomically, it has many negative impacts on both family and society. In this essay, I will explain why and give my conclusion. First and foremost, delaying childbirth can lead to problems on an individual level. Naturally, parents tend to get easily tired in their later years compared to their youth, and find it harder to cope with bringing up one child let alone multiple children. For example, my brother started having his kids in his late thirties and he has had a terrible time dealing with the workload from his job and constant worry of his children at home. Luckily, his mother-in-law offered to help him share the responsibilities of the kids and now he is managing better. Therefore, individually it has proven to have undesirable outcomes. Secondly, delayed childbirth has deadly consequences from a societal standpoint. For instance, Japan is facing an existential crisis in the next century. This is because the parents there are opting to have children later in life. Additionally, the options for having more than a few children are limited due to health concerns. Furthermore, their elderly population is growing much more rapidly than their child-birth which raises huge concerns for their economy. Consequently, this leads to a population full of retirees and nearly no one left to work everyday jobs and keep the economy growing, inevitably leading to near extinction. In conclusion, having offspring later in life can have dire outcomes for the family and society. It is recommended to have babies sooner.