Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, advertisements have become highly popular, and humans can easily find them everywhere. This essay attempts to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that this is indeed an encouraging development. On the one hand, the growing popularity of advertising is disadvantageous to some extent. Firstly, these promotional campaigns could disturb viewers’ enjoyment. Specifically, due to commercial breaks, which are becoming more frequent and present in almost everything we read or watch, viewers may find it difficult to enjoy their TV programs. Secondly, this trend could lead to fake news and misleading information being disseminated extensively. As a result, this could make media consumers consume detrimental information as well as believe in many scam organizations, which could cause them to lose a large amount of money. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that promotions could be advantageous. One key rationale in favor of this view is that these advertisements could contribute to the advancement of the economy. This perspective could be further clarified by the fact that the ubiquity of advertising could help consumers know about the latest products and services which are available in the supermarket, thereby fostering the development of a thriving economy. Another justification is that without advertising, a plethora of corporations would face bankruptcy. This perception could be reinforced by the fact that if clothing brands' promotional campaigns do not reach customers, they may face closure in the near future. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that advertising could have numerous negative impacts, I would contend that this phenomenon is a positive development.