Some people believe that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age to drive cars and motorcycles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road accidents are on the increase all over the world. Some people argue that raising the age limit to drive motor vehicles will enhance road safety. I partially agree with this statement. Firstly, this essay will explain why I agree with this statement, followed by an analysis of why I disagree with this statement. On the one hand, physical fitness and a thorough understanding of road rules and regulations are essential for a good driver. There is a positive correlation between these factors and age. It is easier for adults to balance the vehicles than youngsters as adults are physically strong enough to control a vehicle. In addition, adults follow the road rules and regulations very carefully because they know the serious consequences of not following them properly. For example, the number of road accidents was reduced significantly when Sri Lanka increased the age limit to obtain a driving license to 18 years old from 16 years old. Conversely, road safety requires many other elements such as good road infrastructure and better traffic control systems. The condition of the road plays a major role in saving people from accidents and; ensuring a safe journey. Traffic should be monitored using traffic lights or by traffic police. Failure to do so may result in multi-vehicle collisions, causing injuries and deaths. A case in point is that some African countries which have the highest minimum age requirement for driving also have higher accident rates. It shows that age is not the only factor which determines road safety. To sum up, I would argue that while increasing the age limit for motor vehicle driving, the advancement of the other components such as road infrastructure and traffic control systems should be considered for the safety of all who are on the road