Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railway and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recently argued that there should be more investment in traffic infrastructure than the systems of public transport. Personally, the writer inclines towards the contrary as a way to reduce the number of vehicles on roads, which subsequently eases many problems such as congestion or in environmental terms. Nowadays, it is acknowledged that there are hundreds of traffic participants using their own cars or motorbikes to freely move around. This stems from various reasons, but mostly is because of their unpleasant experience when catching a bus or taking a train, which leads to a significant increase in private transport. Especially in Vietnam, for instance, where motorbikes dominate in the total of vehicles, whereas public transportation is less used. As a result, there will be more potential for traffic congestion during peak time as well as a noticeable number of accidents, and even more roads will be built up. Hence, if the public transport services are invested to be improved and renovated, this might encourage more people to use public conveyance frequently, indirectly decreasing those existing problems. Another aspect worth mentioning when it comes to reducing the number of cars and motorbikes is about environment. transportation are the major factor of the greenhouse effect when a car or a motorbike can give off a big amount of carbonic after travelling within a relatively short distance. What needs to be considered is that in these years, more and more vehicles are bought and used, leading to an enormous amount of carbon dioxide being emitted into the atmosphere annually. This results in not only global warming but also air pollution, and badly affects human health. Calling the majority of people to attend public trains or trams is a practical solution to minimize the troubles. Therefore, the transport publicly used should be prioritized. Taking all points into account, spending on public services’ improvement is likely to solve a wide abundance of problems existing, rather than paying for the development of motorways and roads. The writer, thus, tends to approve the opposite side of the statement.