In some cultures, children are encouraged to compete against each other. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

In some regions competition between children is encouraged. This can benefit youngsters by accelerating their improvement, while also making them tough; however, the competition also makes them chase perfection which results in being too hard on themselves. On the one hand, raising competition among children can boost their drive to improvement, while also teaching them to be resilient. Seeing as the other person is doing better than them makes the other person work harder to win. Likewise, competition sometimes can be rough and some people may behave unfairly, thus, it also teaches children to be resilient and to adapt to these situations. According to the research, the majority of successful people had engaged in some kind of competitive type of sport or elective during their childhood. In other words, it taught them to fight and work hard to achieve the desirable results. In contrast, competition also can form an unhealthy obsession with perfection, which results in exhaustion and other health problems. Pressuring children to compete with each other changes their perception of life. Starting from school they consider they try to be the best in every aspect of their life, considering that only being perfect in everything means success. Moreover, the thought of perfection contributes to leading an unsatisfactory life, and as a result, pressures people to work hard until they reach the ideal point. A recent study showed that most of the overachievers suffer from exhaustion, depression, and anxiety due to their constant urge to be the best in every field. In conclusion, inspiring children to compete with each other improves their marks and education, while also teaching them to be confident and strong. Whereas disadvantages show the future where the person is constantly chasing perfection in life.