Whether or not a person achieves their aims in life is mostly related to luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

How influential luck is to a person's success is an interesting topic of debate. While some believe that luck is the primary factor, I am inclined to disagree with this point of view, as hard work is also a significant contributor to people’s achievement. The idea that luck is the chief determinant related to accomplishing somebody’s goal is not without merit. It might be easier to reach success if people were born into fortunate circumstances. Anderson Cooper, who is one of the most critically-acclaimed broadcast journalists and recognizable faces on TV today, is a descendant of the elite Vanderbilt family. This gave him access to better education and resources, allowing him to attain the career he has had. Furthermore, some people may be lucky enough to bloom at the right time, which can give them a pioneer’s advantage in their field. Arnold Schwarzenegger was one of the most popular action movie stars decades ago, thanks to his imposing physique at his prime, yet nowadays, hardly any actor can make a career out of action movie roles. However, luck is far from the be-all and end-all in a person's success. I would consider diligence and dedication to be more instrumental, as they lay the foundation for fortune to do the most work. Though Arnold’s aforementioned example can be interpreted as one of somebody who peaked at the right time, it should be noted that he had already been a successful bodybuilder by the start of his acting career. Arnold, undoubtedly, had to put time in on uplifting himself before his talent could be noticed. Had he not strived to be the best from the beginning, his life would not have turned out the way it had. Taking this point into consideration, it is clear that fortune is not the greatest contributor to somebody's accomplishment. In my opinion, while luck plays a role in producing success, hard work and determination are ultimately essential. People who seek to achieve an aim in life should remember to make tangible effort toward their goals before hoping to be favored by Lady Luck.