WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the availability of internet, people are able to learn more about health science. Consequently, some people may opt for other medicine and treatment rather than going to the doctor like they used to. This short essay examines whether this development is positive or negative. First, there may be more reasons as to why people are choosing different medication and treatment methods other than because of what they learn online. The rise of the internet happened simultaneously with technological advancement and economic development around the world. This leads to an ever increasing number of ways to address health issues, each having various costs and side effects. For instance, some people in Myanmar may want to get an injection from the clinic as a quick cure to a cold while others may prefer to get cold medicine over the counter. It may be a matter of preference as both of these options are affordable and accessible. In my opinion, this development of trying alternative methods is positive because it shows that human beings are willing to adapt. The scientific world has something new to offer the public every day and we can benefit from newer methods which tend to be better than the old. For example, some doctors advise us not to rely on modern medicine too much because we would build up resistance to them. We can decide to have some decaffeinated tea to cure a headache instead of taking some painkillers. By doing so, we are not only saving time and money that involves in a simple visit to the healthcare provider but also doing our bodies a favor through healthy decisions. To conclude, there are various reasons why people may attempt options other than visiting their regular doctor to treat their health issues. I believe that this is a good development in our society because it is good to take all the available options into careful consideration before deciding what we do to our bodies.