Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

It is uncommon to see many people use traditional tools of writing such as a pen or a pencil. The fundamental reason behind this can be attributed to technological advancements and this change in trend has more negative effects than positive outcomes. The primary reason why today’s people hesitate to write with a pen or a pencil is because of the convenience they enjoy by using advanced writing tools on their own personal gadgets. To be precise, it was difficult for many people to acquire a decent handwriting skills and this paved the way for the invention of gadgets like typewriter. Computers, tablets and smartphones made written communication more professional and attractive with abundant features like changing the font, style, colour, and boldness of typed texts. At present, spoken language can be automatically typed, stored and sent using smartphone applications. As the aforementioned reasons can be analysed as the positive developments of this change, there are some crucial issues which the language experts are worried about today. With the popularity of technological aids for writing, many essential skills like spelling accuracy, memory recall and conceptual understanding have declined among the new generation; a recent research revealed. To explain it further, the modern man is totally dependent on the technology for writing, and this makes him difficult to write even a simple letter without making spelling errors and grammar mistakes. On the other hand, those who still use traditional writing methods showed increased connectivity across their brain and had better memory of what they have written. To conclude, it is clear that technological developments are inevitable in every field, and so in writing. However, if handwriting skills with pens and pencils are abandoned, it would have serious consequences among the new generation.