Less and less parents these days are smacking their children. Some people think that this is leading to a generation of misbehaved children. Do you agree or disagree to this view.

Parents nowadays are not smacking their children as they used to earlier. This is considered to be the reason for a misbehaved generation of adolescents by some people. I firmly disagree with this thought process of people who feel that only smacking a child can get them to behave. Smacking children has been a practice followed by generations together. Parents now are more understanding, mature and literate. They are effectively breaking this cycle of physically and mentally abusing a child as most of them have been through this and realise the amount of mental distress it causes. Parents want their children to be brought up in a safe atmosphere where the kids are not afraid of them. Instead, they want their child to feel protected and at home in their presence. Most importantly, their kids should not keep secrets from them, but rather involve them in the ups and downs of their day-to-day lives. When the misbehaviour of an entire generation of children is considered, there are multiple reasons for that. Some of these may include the leniency of teachers and parents towards bad conduct. The friend circles a child has is just as important as the environment the child is majorly in. The influence peers have on children also reflects in their behaviour. Some kind of punishment is absolutely required like grounding them or taking away their electronic devices, but physical violence against a child is not a solution anymore. In conclusion, while parents now create a safe environment for their children, sometimes a child may go on a wrong path. Smacking them is not a solution to this anymore. People need to understand that, fear of the stick is more effective than using the stick itself and it is not always a parent not smacking their child which results in misbehaviour.