Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work a company. Why might be this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Modern societies have witnessed a significant increase in the quantity of youths establishing their own companies. Contributory factors to these developments are varied and linked to the freedom and flexibility of self-employment. The following essay interrogates these causes and deliberates on the drawbacks of being self-employed. On examining the stimulus of becoming an independent worker, it is obvious that people can have the latitude to make their own decisions in different situations. In other words, most corporate companies, have cumbersome systems of hierarchy, where decisions have to go through lengthy approval lines. Meanwhile, self-employed people have the freedom to bespeak any solutions without being exerted influence by the annoying seniors. Additionally, self-employed workers can sidestep tedious daily commutes to the workplace and avoid working tiredly during fixed office hours. A wealth of recent evidence indicates the escalating number of youths consuming a desire to set up their own business because of its great merits. With respect to the multifaceted drawbacks of being self-employed, it is obvious that the workers do not benefit from social welfare as much as traditional employees such as health insurance, pension and paid leave. For this reason, they are inclined to purchase private health insurance to cover their medical expenditure, which is more exorbitant. Besides, self-employment is a challenging career, which is highly susceptible to financial uncertainty on account of its limited access and interrelation with other firms. Taking everything into consideration, as fruitful as an independent worker is, the accompanying downsides are no less significant. Thus it is advisable for self-employed people to govern their business thoroughly in order to mitigate adverse implications.